The Interview that killed Michael Jackson’s Career

June 27, 2009 at 7:32 pm 1 comment

I was never a loyal fan of Michael Jackson. I never cried seeing him perform. I didn’t even shed a tear when he died. But I totally admired the professional artist and the total performer that he truly was. I don’t remember myself NOT dancing or singing to his songs because I have always loved his songs. I was born in early ’70s and I had the privilege to listen to his top of the chart hits Billie Jean, Beat It, Thriller, Rock With You, Smooth Criminal, and many many more. Michael Jackson had it. He had everything until an interview with Martin Bashnir came out on television 2003.

Dubbed as Living with Michael Jackson, Martin Bashnir showed everything. And literally turned the tables around on the moonwalker making him appear as a smooth criminal. The interview was very unusual, so unusual that I was glued on bed watching the entire interview. Since then, the public has never seen much of the moonwalker on television. Most americans hated Michael Jackson and all the more judged him from what was shown on that particular interview. It was carefully and deliberately edited to show the different (or rather the odd and bad) side of the King of Pop. I must say, it was a backstabbing strategy.

Few years later, news came out that Neverland was seized by the government, Michael Jackson was in hiding and in debt, Michael Jackson was sued by a number of people and organizations, and more. I could only think of one thing how these things happened. I could only blame it to that interview. He was not able to pull it all together especially that the issue involved his children. As a former child star and a parent, I think he only wants to protect his children and think of their welfare more than anything else. So when I heard about his comeback concert, I felt glad for him to be able to bring back the pieces of his life and prove that he hasn’t lost the luster that he once had.

Then came the ill-fated news on July 25, 2009. Michael Jackson died on a suspected cardiac arrest at his rented home in Los Angeles. He was no longer breathing when his body was rushed to the UCLA Medical Hospital. The news is all over the Internet. As I watch the CNN news, thoughts ran through my mind. The King of Pop is gone. He could no longer moonwalk in front of his millions of fans in London. He could no longer cheer them and sing to them. He could no longer pay his debts and gain back his lost properties. He could no longer face his critics and say, I am back! Worse, he could no longer be there to take care, guide and protect his children the way he wanted to.

I took time to search for the interviews that I’ve seen years back and wish to share it with you guys especially to those who haven’t seen it yet. Unfortunately, I could only share a few as the video is a private property. And for MJ, perhaps they would understand you now. Good that you managed to keep the child living within you. You will always be Peter Pan. Safe journey!

Entry filed under: Celebrities and Famous Faces. Tags: , , , , , .

Maricar Reyes is finally out Nostalgic Mem’ries relives the good ol’ music

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Sherill  |  June 27, 2009 at 11:11 pm

    Dude, this is awesome!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,376 hits

