Family: Building relationships

April 28, 2009 at 7:24 pm 2 comments

Raising a child is never an easy job. It isn’t just about giving him what he wants rather giving him what he needs. It isn’t just about putting him in a good school but giving him the best education that he deserves. It isn’t about teaching him ABC’s, figures and more but teaching him moral values that he will benefit from as he gets older. It isn’t about the expensive toys and stuff that we give him but the kind of love that we show him. It’s about spending time with them especially when they needed us most that they realize how much we love them.

As a parent, I realized now what my mother and grandparents had to go through to be able to raise me. And how difficult it was especially that I am an only daughter. Late this afternoon while reading a whole lot about Yasmin Ahmad and watching tvc’s that the exceptional director has done, I chanced upon this video about Family. Although we had a comfortable life when I was young, this video still reminded me of my mom and grandparents. And how I sometimes could be difficult. Perhaps, most of us were when we were kids.

However, growing up has learned me valuable lessons in life. Now that I have Zoe I realized that true enough, parents will do more than anything to be able to provide for a child just so we could give happiness to our little one. Less than two weeks from now, we will be celebrating Mothers’ day while Fathers’ day is roughly a month away. I hope that this video will bring lessons to children to become selfless and be more mindful of their parents, just as what Yasmin Ahmad had in mind before filming this tv commercial. Let’s embrace our parents more… and even often as they wish to.

Entry filed under: Family and Relationships. Tags: , , .

Miss California feels sorry for Perez Hilton Manny Pacquiao on CNN Talk Asia

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Janet Powell  |  April 30, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    I started watching the video and thought it was about a spoiled little girl. But by the end I realised that the father was showing his love for his daughter by giving her the things she most wanted, and she finally came to understand that.We all have different ways of showing love to others and we also have preferred ways of receiving love.I’ve just read a great book called “The Five Love Languages” by Gary Chapman, and I’m going to include some of his work in my next parenting class.

    Reply
    • 2. Gem  |  April 30, 2009 at 6:53 pm

      Hi Janet.Thank you so much for the comment. I thought so too when I was watching that video. But at the end of it, I was so glad that she was not. Sounds good to me, I’ll try to look into that book this weekend.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,376 hits

