American Idol Season 8: Things that people do for the show

January 30, 2009 at 7:36 am Leave a comment

It’s the season 8 of American Idol. They are so back and they’re still one of the world’s most-watched reality TV shows. From Kansas to Phoenix to San Francisco, Louisville, Salt Lake City and now Jacksonville, the American Idol Season 8 sure caught millions of viewers with totally hilarious and exceptional moments from Idol hopefuls. It’s incredible how people would make a fool of themselves on national television and actually believe that they are deserving of the title “The next American Idol.” Don’t they have ears to recognize if they’re losing their pitch or not?

When I was in Grade School, my teacher asked me to render a song in front of the class (for some reasons that I cannot remember). For all I know was that I was a teacher’s pet. Wanting to impress my crush who was seated on front row, I stood up and sang “Crazy for You” by Madonna (of all songs!). I was singing the first part of the song when I started hearing things– my hoarse voice went crashing like a broken record, even worse than a pirated DVD.

Then I realized I was totally out of tune! It came to my senses that my crush was there, looking at me with a surprised face and popping question marks on his head. I was shaking. I was nervous. I asked myself, “What did you do?” I didn’t want to look like an idiot (what? did I hear myself right? Singing on top of my lungs with a voice like that wasn’t a dumb thing to do???) and wanted to pull it off. So I apologized, started over and sang again. But it only made things worse. I just didn’t know what to do so I fainted to save myself from humiliation (that all the more made me appear like a big joke). I guess you know by now what happens next. I woke up realizing that singing isn’t my cup of tea.

No wonder my grandfather would always tell me (when I was younger) that he’ll let me join the competion called “Tawag ng Tanggalan” (he meant that but it was originally called Tawag ng Tanghalan). Tanghalan, in English, means a show or performance. Tawag ng Tanghalan was a singing competition aired on Philippine TV that bested in the 60s up to the 70s that paved way to a newer show, Bagong Kampeon in the 80s (my time). Tanggalan on the other hand, is a past tense of “tanggal” which means “to evict.”

Meanwhile, here are some of my favorite American Idol Season 8 videos that are considerably funny and most of which, worth evicting. Watching these videos make me think I am fortunate that I am not as confident as they are to join such a big competition as American Idol. Hehe.

Entry filed under: blogging, Celebrities and Famous Faces. Tags: , , , , .

Signs can get confusing! American Idol Season 8 contestant Michael Gurr is so back!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,376 hits

