Yaya Teaches Zoe Part 2

January 4, 2009 at 11:37 am 4 comments

It’s been a while since I blogged about a similar subject. I know that most people (especially my friends) wanted to read something like this because they are really funny. But what makes them a lot hilarious is that they are based on true stories. Okay, here it is.

Since it’s a holiday, Zoe’s been spending a lot of time with me and her daddy. One afternoon, while I was working on something for our so-called “business,” Zoe asked for some pen and paper and started to scribble down. Her nanny, on the other hand, played along and wrote down Zoe’s first name.

Nanny: “Zoe, Zee Uuu Ehh.” She later turned to me and asked, “Ate Gem, ano po yung spelling nung pangalawang pangalan ni Zoe?” (How do you spell Zoe’s second name?)

Me: “It’s Marceux. Capital M a r c e u x. Marceux.” Then Zoe’s nanny started writing it down.

Nanny: “Ahh. Zoe, lok (she means, look). M e r c i u x.”

I was surprised to see what she wrote. I stopped what I was doing and quickly turned to her.

Me: “Dapat A yan hindi E. Yun sabi ko eh. Yung isa E hindi I.” (It’s supposed to be A not E. And the other one is supposed to be E not I. That’s what I said.) 

After hearing what I said, she immediately changed it. I was looking at her writing to check if they were right.

Nanny: “Zoe, lok (look) again. M A R C A U X.”

Me: “O, ba’t A naman yang huli? E sabi ko d ba? Letter E.” (Why’d you change it to letter A? I said letter E not A.)

Nanny: “Opo ate. Ehhh nga yan.” (Yes. It’s Ehhh.)

Me: (Scratching my head, I replied) “Ahh. Di naman yan A eh. Ang sabi ko letter E as in Eeeee. Not A as in Eyyyy. Yan ang pronunciation nyan.” (Ahh that’s not letter A. I said it’s E as in Eeee not A as in Eyyy. That’s the right pronunciation).

It made me think. Her pronunciation is different from a normal pronunciation since she came from a Visayan-speaking province. So I grabbed a pencil and corrected it before Zoe gets confused with her own name. Sigh.

Entry filed under: blogging, Si Yaya at si Inday. Tags: .

Making a Difference in the Year 2009 Zoe gets dizzy over Rihanna!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. mel  |  January 6, 2009 at 9:50 pm

    hahaha! my nephews grew up saying “ati” instead of “ate” because we used to have a maid who has similar pronunciation troubles.

    Reply
  • 2. Gem  |  January 7, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Hehehe. That’s something I refuse to happen to Zoe. Muntik na. But NO! Hehe.😀

    Reply
  • 3. Mick  |  January 7, 2009 at 5:55 pm

    When Zoe starts saying Kebol instead of Cable, let’s push the panic button and ditch her yaya.. hehehe

    Reply
  • 4. Gem  |  January 7, 2009 at 6:03 pm

    Hahaha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,376 hits

