Pacquiao-Dela Hoya Bout: A Fixed Fight or a Mismatch?

November 26, 2008 at 2:31 pm 1 comment

pacquiao-delahoya2

The much-awaited fight of the year, The Dream Match: People’s Champ Manny “Pacman” Pacquiao vs. Golden Boy Oscar Dela Hoya, is nearing and the excitement intensifies with only ten days away to witness the big event. Slated on December 6 at the MGM Grand in Las Vegas, the said match has long been creating a lot of noise.

Criticisms and opinions are buzzing around from one fighter to another, some would even taunt Pacquiao belittling him saying it’s a mismatch and some would side him.

Former Champ Roger Mayweather even backlashes during an interview, published on Philippine STAR Sports Section, “Do I think it’s a mismatch? No. I don’t think it’s a mismatch. I know it’s a mismatch. And what’s he gonna do with Dela Hoya? He doesn’t have the skills like him.”  The retired champion also made excruciating remarks saying, “Dela Hoya is older but is taller at 5’10 and way heavier than the Filipino lightweight champion.”Who is he to say that? Well, yeah, he’s Mayweather. With his unbeatable record like that of his nephew; the former Pound for Pound King, Floyd Jr.; Roger Mayweather can make as many comments as he wants and people may believe him too. After all, everyone’s entitled to his/her own opinion.

But really, does size matter? I don’t think so. Pacquiao has proven this many times winning his new title, the Mexicutioner. He moves fast and once he deploys his right hand, we already knew he’s bagging home another belt.

Just a week ago, I heard from colleagues (along with other TV reporters and sports critics) that it’s gonna’ be a fixed fight. And the result will be: a “draw”. It’s a moneymaking match with both fighters earning millions of dollars because they do not have anything to lose. Well, that’s what they think.

If this “rumor” (or perhaps, a prediction) is really true, a lot of people will get frustrated with both fighters; most particularly their fans. People will lose confidence on two of the greatest fighters for ripping their reputation on national TV and for that, the prestigious WBC will be tainted. Controversy will spring and fighters would continue fighting about money. But would they? Wouldn’t a true boxer be happy to bag home a winning belt for his country? So I really think it’s a crap.

Meanwhile another fighter serves as a challenger to whoever wins the fight and he’s mum about his prediction. Because like he said in a Philippine Star article, “Who am I to say who will win that? In fact, the winner or the loser will be a good fight to be honest. I’ll be in Vegas for that and watching it with interest.”Well, people can all gloat about their predictions. This is why it is called a prediction. But we can only pray for Manny’s victory for his victory is ours.

 

How about you? What’s your view on this? I am definite that like everyone else, you won’t fail to miss this exciting match. 😉

Entry filed under: blogging.

Skin Whiteners… Beware! Aubrey Miles, is that you???

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. bong0  |  November 26, 2008 at 3:12 pm

    If they would fight their hearts out, I believe Dela Hoya has the upper edge. However, if I was either Dela Hoya or Pacquiao I’d definitely test what happens in the first two rounds. Give it my all and if I feel I’m getting beaten black and blue, I’d quit. Why? Because win or loose I get the same amount of money.

    He who fights and runs away lives to fight another day.

    Dela Hoya is retired and I believe is only fighting out of pride – for his beaten countrymen. Manny is the reigning champion and if he looses to Dela Hoya he looses his psychological advantage over his succeeding opponents.

    Even if he wins the match versus Dela Hoya it does not prove anything at all.

    In the end, I’ll watch their match not because I am expecting one or the other to win. I’ll watch their match because I like boxing.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 108,635 hits