Wanted: Nanny

October 29, 2008 at 10:30 am 3 comments

My daughter’s nanny was ditched last Sunday for many reasons, which happened in several unexpected occurences. Counting the first event would be horrific to a parent like me especially when you hear her teaching words like ‘p_n!s” to a 1-year old girl. So I got upset and told her not to teach my kid anything like that, and she should just keep it to herself if she feels “an urge” or whatever.

Confident that my daughter would no longer hear such words because of my stern warning, everything went back to normal. Several incidents followed weeks later with her mother staying with us for two (2) days acting like a boss. I rattled and immediately talked to her so she could bring her mother to a relative. Several days after, I heard her disrespecting my mother. That same day, I was also informed by our helper that this nanny taught my daughter the same word again. I couldn’t help it anymore. I screamed on top of my lungs and immediately asked her to leave the next day.

I was relieved that she’s no longer with us. But Zoe was left without a nanny attending to her. An accident occurred. She pulled the folding bed (a really big and heavy one) that immediately crashed on her and left her pinned on the floor yesterday. We rushed her to the hospital at midnight because she vomitted.

While at the St. Luke’s ER, the doctor asked who was attending to my daughter. I could not give any answer at all. I was working and the maid was (tired and asleep). It came to my senses that my husband is so right. Zoe should have a nanny who would really look after her and the maid could not do all things at once.

We hope that we could find someone who would not just look after our daughter but who would also guide her in the best possible way.

Entry filed under: blogging, Si Yaya at si Inday. Tags: .

My mobile phone just crashed… The Story Behind the (patotoy) word

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Edward JB Rivera  |  November 5, 2008 at 3:59 am

    if we only have that luxury over here in the united states. well, we do. but you have to be making at least a six figure salary to be able to afford a good day care and still live comfortably (note that the word comfort is very subjective). not to mention an in house nanny. now that will cost you more. but thats the beauty of cheap labor. what i would give for an in-house maid/yaya. she can teach my kid all the bad words in the dictionary for all i care (for those of you who does not have a sense of humor, feel free to lash your tounges at me). but i agree, good help is hard to find these days. and sometimes its not about the money, its the values that your child will be exposed to. now thats priceless. you can only fire too many yayas before you lose faith in the domestic help system. good luck.

    Reply
  • 2. creativepen4hire  |  November 5, 2008 at 4:51 am

    Hey Buddy. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Well, based on the economic condition of the Philippines, you’d know the answer to that cheap labor thing. Even accountants and directors here do not really earn that big.😉

    And having maid and a nanny is something that we would miss when we migrate. Like an old friend said pertaining to the comforts that we have here compared to the decision of migrating to Canada, it’s “hirap for now and security later.” We’ll just cross the bridge when we get there.

    As for the values, like what we had discussed earlier, anyone in his right frame of mind won’t teach a kid something like that. Even a smacker won’t. And you agreed to that.🙂

    Reply
  • 3. Shirley  |  November 7, 2008 at 4:53 am

    Like what i told you when u told me that story,,my god she’s lucky that i’m not zoe’s mom co’z if i we’re you the minute that i heard her teaching my kid that word which she’s not supposed to,,sinampal ko na sya before i fire her!!she’s stupid,remember i told you mahirap na ngayun makahanap ng mabait na YAYA,but then i wish you could find someone to look after baby zoe while you and your husband works,, good luck!>Wink<

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Old Posts

Blog Stats

  • 99,376 hits

